London Film Awards

2017 London Film Award Winners

London Film Awards Winners truly represent the best of the independent film and screenwriting. The London Film Awards proudly recognizes the Gold Lion Award Winners of the 2017 Film and Screenplay competitions.

Grand Jury Prize

The Activists: War, Peace, and Politics in the Streets directed by Melody Shemtov

Special Jury Prize

Cotton Wool directed by Nicholas Connor

Best Experimental Film

Sirocco: Prophecy of Wind directed by John Taschner

Best Animated Film

Ghost Beats directed by Brent Barson

Best Screenplay

An Old Man of the Hills, and the Schoolmaster's Story directed by Harry Pearson

Best Documentary Feature

Trial By Fire - The Terry Dunnage Story directed by Adrian Scott

Best Documentary Short

Birmingham's Phenomenal Woman directed by Tonya Joy Bolton

Best British Film

Our Little Haven directed by Ben Rider

Best Director

Filling In directed by Bradley Hawkins

Cinematic Vision Award

Timeless Charms directed by Zah Ahmad

Best First-Time Director

Wild directed by Leticia Cáceres

Best Actor

Tristan Barr in Watch the Sunset

Best Actress

Alexandra Ficken in Baggage directed by Andi Behring

Best Feature

The Reverse Diaries directed by Shin Sonoda

Best Short

Will Wilson directed by David C. Herman

Best Supporting Actor

Karl Holtz in Filling in Directed by Bradley Hawkins

Best Supporting Actress

Danielle Kronenberg in Taste directed by Jay Palmieri Jr.

Best Television Commercial

Thanks for 50 Years directed by Nick Myall

Best Television Pilot

Star Crash® directed by Cam Pippitt, Jaclyn O'Laughlin

Best Student Film

Burning in the Mekong directed by Orson Dijle

Best Music Video

Vertical Lines directed by Miles Flanagan

Best Web Video

Spectrum London directed by Tim Porter & Campbell X

Official Finalists

Pizza Face directed by Justin Ulloa, Jamie Dwyer
Hard To Believe directed by Ken Stone
Carpathian Karma - The Story of Joshka directed by Mario Damolin
Bosatsu - Year of the Dragon directed by Sid Ahl
Marina directed by Story Chen
Listen directed by Niko Mikadze
Into a Dark Mind directed by Harley Wallen
Incredible India directed by Keyur Shah
Quantum Earth directed by Frederic Eger
Get Staffed! directed by Pier Van Tijn

Feature Screenplay Competition Winners

Grand Prize Winner
Parousia written by Todd Sorrell

Second Place
TreePeople written by Guy Polin

Third Place
The Devil's Dandruff written by JoAnn Hess

Fourth Place
Diplomatic Ammunity! Written by Jonathan LaPoma

Fifth Place 
written by Stephen Cottage

Official Finalists

Faceless written by Elaine Purnell
Bobby Kyle written by Richard Mallett
The Salt Box written by Robert J. Rogers
Larry Alexander's Airboy written by Larry Alexander
The Doll written by Serge Adam

Honorable Mentions

A Boy From the Third Country written by Owen Guo
Waiting for Dardolle written by Stephen Evans
A Violent Edge written by Joaquim Barreto
The Lady Pirates written by Theresa Anne Carey
Leaving Graceland written by Tracey Lion-Cachet

Short Screenplay Competition Winners

Grand Prize Winner
MUSED written by James M Martin

Second Place Old
Pierre written by Helen Georgiou

Third Place
Little Bo Peep written by Denise Cowap

Fourth Place
Mr. Happy written by Sydney Lloyd Smith

Fifth Place
Edna's Dearest Possessions written by Ozge Gozturk

Official Finalists

Trickery written by Mark Cowan
Come to Grief written by Michelle Bracks
The law of dishonor written by Francisco Yvan Luzemo, David Bourgie , Babetida Sadjo
Blonde Malfunction written by Mackenzie Munro
Trinity Loft 2017 written by Roland Zistler

Best First-Time Writer

First Place
Your Last Chance, Veronica Lange written by Rohan Stephens

Second Place
N.E.R.D.S. written by Andrew M. Ward

Third Place
Hollywood Noir written by Jax Miller

Fourth Place
Odilo Fabian or (The Possibility of Impossible Dreams) written by Michael Rowney

Fifth Place

SQUIB written by Sydney Clara Brafman

Official Finalists

The Tower written by Melissa Reynolds
The Otahiti Philosophers written by Fernanda Harrington
Broken Glass and Plastic written by Alexander Lincoln
The Unsung written by Samuel Lee McGinley
Lime written by Amber Snow

Best Television Pilot

First Place
Death Takes a VayKay written by Holie Barker

Second Place
The Lost Opera written by Rachel Thomas-Medwid

Third Place
Swipe written by Jeff Opdyke

Fourth Place
Little Dragon written by Bonnie Hendrickson

Fifth Place
Loyal Royals written by Sonia Gumuchian

Official Finalists

Crackle & Pop written by Nick Myall
United We Stand! Written by Mezerette Pierre
Michelangelo written by Roberto Lemos
The Reset written by Kate Traill
Stardust written by Freddy White

Best Stage Plays

First Place
Two-Bit Taj Mahal written by Paul D'Andrea / Christian D'Andrea

Second Place
ERR written by Rahul Kumar Srivastava

Third Place
Stop at a Winner written by Justin Scott